Destination EarthAQUANSIDCGHCCNational Space Science Technology Center  
   
  Instrument DescriptionObjectivesData ProductsValidationScience TeamDocumentsRelated Sites  
 

AMSR-E Meetings

2008

2009

2010

2011

2012

2013

Science Team

The National Aeronautics and Space Administration of the United States and the JAXA of Japan each have teams involved in algorithm development and implementation for analysis of data from the AMSR-E. The NASA AMSR-E Team is led by Dr. Roy Spencer (UAH) and the NASDA AMSR / AMSR-E Team is led by Dr. Akira Shibata (NASDA).

Dr. Roy W. Spencer received his B.S. in Atmospheric Sciences from the University of Michigan in 1978 and his M.S. and Ph.D. in Meteorology from the University of Wisconsin in 1980 and 1982. He then continued at the U. of Wisconsin through 1984 in the Space Science and Engineering Center as a research scientist. In his current position at the Earth System Science Center of the University of Alabama in Huntsville Dr. Spencer serves as Principal Investigator on the Global Precipitation Studies with Nimbus-7 and DMSP SSM/I. He has been a member of several science teams: the Tropical Rainfall Measuring Mission (TRMM) Space Station Accommodations Analysis Study Team, Science Steering Group for TRMM, TOVS Pathfinder Working Group, and NASA HQ Earth Science and Applications Advisory Subcommittee. Since 1992 Dr. Spencer has been the U.S. Team Leader for the Multichannel Imaging Microwave Radiometer (MIMR) team and the follow-on AMSR-E team. In 1994 he became the AMSR-E Science Team leader. He received the NASA Exceptional Scientific Achievement Medal in 1991, the MSFC Center Director's Commendation in 1989, and the American Meteorological Society's Special Award in 1996.

Dr. Akira Shibata, co-leader of the Joint AMSR Science Team, received his B.S., M.S. and Ph.D. from Waseda University, in the Science and Engineering Department. Before moving to the Meteorological Research Institute (MRI) in 1983, he was a technical officer at the Nagasaki Marine Observatory. At MRI he worked as a research scientist. In 1996, Dr. Shibata moved to the Earth Observation Research Center as an Associate senior scientist. He also serves as the ADEOS II AMSR Science Team leader.

Both teams are comprised of investigators from government laboratories, academia, and private industry, all chosen by a competitive peer review process. The Joint AMSR Science Team leadership is shared by Dr. Shibata and Dr. Spencer. This team consists of NASA AMSR-E science team members and the AMSR sensor team core members.The Joint Team collaborates on the development of common algorithms, procedures, quality assurance, and validation activities to coordinate and streamline the AMSR / AMSR-E data analysis efforts after launch. The sciene teams are responsible for the development of the products distributed to the science community.

The NASA AMSR-E U.S. science team is responsible for the algorithms which generate the level 2 and level 3 EOS products. The U.S. science team members and their software support staff are listed in Table 1. The NASDA team responsibilities cover both ADEOS-II/AMSR and Aqua/AMSR-E. The NASDA team members are listed here.


AMSR-E Science Team Members

NAME /
AFFILIATION
TITLE / TASK
E-MAIL
TELEPHONE /
FAX

Dr. Roy Spencer

UAH
Team Leader roy.spencer@nsstc.uah.edu 256-961-7960
256-961-7723

Dr. Elena Lobl

UAH

Team Coordinator elena.lobl@nsstc.uah.edu 256-961-7912
256-961-7723

Ms. Dawn Conway

UAH

Lead Software Engineer dawn.conway@nasa.gov 256-961-7813
256-961-7723

Mr. Don Moss

UAH

Software Systems Support don.moss@nasa.gov 256-961-7795
256-961-7723
Level 2A Resampled Brightness Temperatures

Mr. Frank Wentz

RSS

Lead; Algoritm Development frank.wentz@remss.com 707-545-2904 ext 16
707-545-2906

Mr. Marty Brewer

RSS

Science & Software brewer@remss.com 707-545-2904 ext 24
707-545-2906
Ocean Parameters Suite
(Wind Speed, SST, Water Vapor, Cloud Liquid Water)

Mr. Frank Wentz

RSS

Lead; Algorithm Development frank.wentz@remss.com 707-545-2904 ext 16
707-545-2906

Mr. Marty Brewer

RSS

Science & Software brewer@remss.com 707-545-2904 ext 12
707-545-2906
Global Precipitation

Mr. Ralph Ferraro

NOAA/NESDIS

Scientist, Land Algorithm Development rferraro@orbit.nesdis.noaa.gov 301-763-8251
301-763-8580

Dr. Christian Kummerow

Colorado State University

Scientist, Ocean Algorithm Development kummerow@atmos.colostate.edu 970-491-7473
970-491-8449

Mr. Richard Weitz

Texas A&M

Software weitz@tamu.edu 409-862-1989
409-862-4466

Dr. Thomas T. Wilheit, Jr.

Texas A&M

Scientist, Ocean Algorithm Develpment wilheit@tamu.edu 409-845-0176
409-862-4466
Sea Ice

Dr. Donald Cavalieri

GSFC

Scientist; Algorithm Development donald.j.cavalieri.nasa.gov 301-614-5901
301-614-5644

Dr. Josefino Comiso

GSFC

Scientist; Algorithm Development josefino.c.comiso@nasa.gov 301-614-5708
301-614-5644

Mr. Rob Gersten

Raytheon

Software bobg@rico.stx.com 301-441-4076  

Al Ivanoff

GSFC

Software alvaro@polynya.gsfc.nasa.gov 301-614-5886
301 614 5644

Dr. Thorsten Markus

GSFC

Scientist/Algorithm Development Thorsten.Markus@nasa.gov 301-614-5882
301-614-5558
Land

Dr. Eni Njoku

JPL

Lead; Algorithm Development eni.g.njoku@jpl.nasa.gov 818-354-3693
>818-354-9476

Mr. Stephen Chan

JPL

Software Steven.Chan@jpl.nasa.gov 818-354-7320
818-354-9476
Snow Water Equivalent
Dr. Richard Kelly Algorithm Development University of Waterloo (Waterloo, Ontario, Canada) rejkelly@fes.uwaterloo.ca 519-888-4567 ext 35451
519-746-0658
Dr. Marco Tedesco Algorithm Development City College of New York mtedesco@sci.ccny.cuny.edu  
Scientists involved in interdisciplinary research with AMSR-E data (selected in 2004)
John Kimball
University of Montana Arctic vegetation productivity and soil respiration johnk@ntsg.umt.edu (406) 982-3301 Ext. 230
(406) 982-3201
Jean Luc Moncet
AER   Moncet@aer.com  

 
 
Site Manager: Dawn Conway